PGH Sports Forum
History of NFL

The National Football League is the first professional sports League to be established in the United States. It was founded in 1920 with ten football teams who were members of regional leagues from four states under the name American Professional Football Association. In 1922 it was renamed as NFL. Later in the 1930s the league progressed into a more formal organization and the league membership also became stabilized slowly. The first Championship game was held in the year 1933. Later NFL merged with its younger rival American Football League in the year 1966 and the first Super Bowl was held in that season and they adopted the name of the senior, NFL. After the merger in the 1970s and 1980s the NFL set its stronghold as Americas top Spectator Sport. The Super Bowl became and an unofficial National Holiday and has the highest TRP when telecast. Currently the National Football League (NFL) consists of 32 teams, with 16 teams each from the National Football Conference and the Clone Script Development company  American Football Conference. It boasts of the highest average attendance of any professional sports league in the world.


SFTB_trenches0205_CPThe NFL consists of 32 clubs organized into eight geographic divisions of four teams each as East, North, South and West. These divisions are further divided into two conferences namely the National Football Conference and the American Football Conference. Each NFL club is authorized by the league to operate as a Franchisee in its home city. This franchise covers ‘Home Territory’, which covers the 75 miles surrounding the city limits, and ‘Home Marketing Area’ that is the Home Territory and the rest of the state the club operates in. Also each NFL member is given the exclusive right to host professional football games inside its Home Territory and holds the exclusive rights for advertising, promoting and hosting events in its Home Marketing Area. By the start of the 1920 the budding National Football League was composed of 15 franchises. Of those teams, only two are still in operation namely the Chicago Cardinals now known as Arizona Cardinals and Decatur Staleys. The other Franchisees were the Akron Pros, the Buffalo Bisons, Canton Bulldogs, Chicago Tigers, Cleveland Browns, Columbus Tigers, Dayton Triangles, Detroit Lions, Hammond Pros, Massillon Tigers, Muncie Flyers, Rochester Jeffersons and the Rock Island Independents. Currently the AFC (American Football Conference) has the Buffalo Bills, Miami Dolphins, New England Patriots and New York Jets in the East division and Baltimore Ravens, Cincinnati Bengals, Cleveland Browns and Pittsburgh Steelers in the North division and Houston Texans, Indianapolis colts, Jackson Jaguars and Tennessee in the South division and Denver Broncos, Kansas City Chiefs, Oakland Raiders and Los Angeles chargers in the West Division. The National Football Conference has the Dallas Cowboys, New York Giants, Philadelphia Eagles and Washington Redskins in the East division, uber for x platform, the Chicago Bears, Detroit Lions, Green Bay Packers and Minnesota Vikings in the North Division, the Atlanta Falcons, Carolina Panthers, New Orleans Saints and Tampa Bay Buccaneers in the South division and the Arizona Cardinals, Los Angeles Rams, San Francisco 49ers and Seattle Seahawks in the West division.During the regular season, each team is allowed a maximum of 53 players out of which only 46 may be eligible to play on game days. The team with the most NFL championships is the Green Bay Packers with thirteen NFL titles including the Super Bowl championships. The team with the most Super Bowl championships is the Pittsburgh Steelers with six.

The Green Bay Packers

The Green Bay Packers are a professional football team that plays in the North Division of the National Football Conference (NFC). The Green Bay Packers was established in 1919 and are the third-oldest NFL franchise. It is a community owned non-profit, professional major league team in the United States. The team was founded by Earl “Curly” Lambeau and George Whitney Calhoun. The team is very popular and has a huge fan base inspite of the fact that it is by far the smallest major league. The Green Bay Packers won the Super Bowl in 1966, 1967, 1996 and 2010. Before the merger of AFL and NFL, the Green Bay Packers have won the NFL Championships 11 times in 1929,1930,1931,1936,1939,1944,1961,1962,1965,1966 and 1967. They have played in 30 Playoff seasons. Their home field was Hagemeister Park in the beginning and Lambeau Field currently. The net worth of this franchisee is $2.35 billion.
The Packers are long-standing challenge for the Bears, Minnesota, and Detroit Lions, who comprise the NFL’s NFC North division. They have played over 100 games against each of those teams. The rivalry of the Bears–Packers is one of the oldest in NFL history, dating back to 1921. Members of the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame include 153 individuals. To mention a few namely Curly Lambeau, Don Hutson, Russ Letlow, Vince Lombardi, Max McGee, Forrest Gregg, Greg Koch and Ahman Green. The Green Bay Packers had a total of 13 coaches in the 20th century. Vince Lombardi was the coach of the Green Bay Packers when they won the Super Bowl in 1966 and 1967. The NFL Super Bowl trophy is named the Vince Lombardi Trophy.