Thread: Pittsburgh Pirates Following The Pens And Steelers Footsteps Building From Within

Threads : 1817
    Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo

Default Pittsburgh Pirates Following The Pens And Steelers Footsteps Building From Within

I've been saying this for a couple of years now... the Pittsburgh Pirates are basically trying to use the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pittsburgh Penguins models for success. Build through the draft, develop your best players and use Trade Deadlines to fill holes or get a player to help push you over the top. Using Free Agency to add some character and depth types and secondary type holes (Bullpen, bench, 1 or 2 position types).

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Pedro_Celebration.jpg 
Views:	36 
Size:	85.1 KB 
ID:	2980The Steelers have perfected this type of team and franchise building. Amazingly team have tried to replicate the Steelers style of team that they build and generally fail in the end results because they aren't using the recipe for doing it..

Building through the Draft and Developing your best players.

To get to the stage at which the Steelers and Penguins are at, you have to start at the bottom and build brick by brick. The Steelers aren't able to show consistent success if they haven't been working the cycle for years and years. That's how the recipe is designed to work. You can get rid of Joey Porter because you have James Harrison waiting. You can get rid of Willie Parker because you have Rashard Mendenhall waiting. etc... This happens because the importance of the draft and developing players to take over starting roles is the heaviest point of emphasizing.