Has this been posted already?.... I feel as if I've been off-kilter lately....
Dawson, Greene, Grimm among HOF semifinalists
LeBeau nominee for Seniors Committee

Saturday, November 28, 2009
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

[HIGH-LIGHT]Former Pittsburgh Steelers players Dermontii Dawson and Kevin Greene and ex-coach Russ Grimm are among 25 semifinalists being considered for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2010.[/HIGH-LIGHT]

Four first-year eligible players, Tim Brown, Jerry Rice, Emmitt Smith and Aeneas Williams, also are among the semifinalists announced today by the Hall of Fame's Selection Committee. The other 21 nominees on the committee's list of nominees have been semifinalists at least once prior to this year.

The list of 25 includes a coach, Don Coryell, and two contributors, Art Modell and Paul Tagliabue. The selection committee chose the 25 semifinalists from the recently announced list of 131 preliminary nominees.

Also today, the Pro Football Hall of Fame said it has teamed up with Phillips-Van Heusen Corporation's Van Heusen brand and J.C. Penney, Inc. to ask fans for the first time to voice their choice for whom they think should be included into the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2010.

The complete list of 25 modern-era semifinalists includes:

Cliff Branch, WR -- 1972-1985 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders

Tim Brown, WR/KR -- 1988-2003 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders, 2004 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Cris Carter, WR -- 1987-89 Philadelphia Eagles, 1990-2001 Minnesota Vikings, 2002 Miami Dolphins

Don Coryell, Coach -- 1973-77 St. Louis Cardinals, 1978-1986 San Diego Chargers

Roger Craig, RB -- 1983-1990 San Francisco 49ers, 1991 Los Angeles Raiders, 1992-93 Minnesota Vikings

Terrell Davis, RB -- 1995-2001 Denver Broncos

[HIGH-LIGHT]Dermontti Dawson, C[/HIGH-LIGHT] -- 1988-2000 Pittsburgh Steelers

Richard Dent, DE -- 1983-1993, 1995 Chicago Bears, 1994 San Francisco 49ers, 1996 Indianapolis Colts, 1997 Philadelphia Eagles

Chris Doleman, DE/LB -- 1985-1993, 1999 Minnesota Vikings, 1994-95 Atlanta Falcons, 1996-98 San Francisco 49ers

[HIGH-LIGHT]Kevin Greene, LB/DE[/HIGH-LIGHT] -- 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers

[HIGH-LIGHT]Russ Grimm, G[/HIGH-LIGHT] -- 1981-1991 Washington Redskins

Ray Guy, P -- 1973-1986 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders

Charles Haley, DE/LB -- 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys

Lester Hayes, CB -- 1977-1986 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders

Rickey Jackson, LB -- 1981-1993 New Orleans Saints, 1994-95 San Francisco 49ers

Cortez Kennedy, DT -- 1990-2000 Seattle Seahawks

Art Modell, Owner -- 1961-1995 Cleveland Browns, 1996-2003 Baltimore Ravens

John Randle, DT -- 1990-2000 Minnesota Vikings, 2001-03 Seattle Seahawks

Andre Reed, WR -- 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Washington Redskins

Jerry Rice, WR -- 1985-2000 San Francisco 49ers, 2001-04 Oakland Raiders, 2004 Seattle Seahawks

Shannon Sharpe, TE -- 1990-99, 2002-03 Denver Broncos, 2000-01 Baltimore Ravens

Emmitt Smith, RB -- 1990-2002 Dallas Cowboys, 2003-04 Arizona Cardinals

Paul Tagliabue, Commissioner -- 1989-2006 National Football League

Steve Tasker, Special Teams/WR -- 1985-86 Houston Oilers, 1986-1997 Buffalo Bills

Aeneas Williams, CB/S -- 1991-2000 Phoenix/Arizona Cardinals, 2001-04 St. Louis Rams

The list of 25 semifinalists will be reduced by mail ballot to 15 modern-era candidates. That list increases to 17 finalist nominees with the inclusion of the two recommended candidates of the Hall of Fame's Seniors Committee.

[HIGH-LIGHT]The Seniors Committee nominees, who were announced in August, are Steelers defensive coordinator Dick LeBeau and Floyd Little. LeBeau played 14 seasons (1959-1972) at cornerback for the Detroit Lions. Little, a running back played nine seasons (1967-1975) for the Denver Broncos.[/HIGH-LIGHT]

The results of the modern-era reduction vote to 15 finalists will be announced on January 7, 2010.

To be considered for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, a nominated player or coach must have been retired at least five years. A contributor, who is a nominee who has made outstanding contributions to pro football in capacities other than playing and coaching, may still be active in his pro football career.

Although there is no set number for any class of enshrinees, the Pro Football Hall of Fame's current ground rules do stipulate that between four and seven new members will be selected each year. No more than five modern-era nominees can be elected in a given year and a class of six or seven enshrinees can only be achieved if one or both senior nominees are elected.

The Class of 2010 will be determined at the Selection Committee's annual meeting on Feb. 6, in South Florida the day before Super Bowl XLIV. The election results will be announced at 5 p.m. during a one-hour NFL Network special, live from the Super Bowl media headquarters.

Others making the Van Heusen Fan's Choice Top 25 list who didn't make the official Hall of Fame Selection Committee list include an athletic trainer, Otho Davis; a game official, Jim Tunney; a coach, Tom Flores; as well as former players Steve A****er, Todd Christensen, Randall Cunningham, Ed "Too Tall" Jones, Jim Plunkett, Sterling Sharpe, Phil Simms, and Joe Theismann.

Fans are encouraged to visit www.fanschoice.com daily to vote for their favorites before the next Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee reduction vote to 15 modern-era finalists that will take place in January.