Rule 78.6 which reads, in part, that "Only one goal can be awarded at any stoppage in play."

Had Ponikarovsky scored when Gonchar hooked him, his goal would have been waved off after it was determined that Gonchar's goal should have counted. Penalties assessed after a goal is validated by video review, however, must be served to deter teams from taking liberties against the opposition when they know they will be awarded a goal at the next stoppage
************************************************** ********There are flaws with this rule and I dont know how you can solve the problem.
The eyes in the sky in Toronto should buzz the refs to stop play ASAP to avoid all the confusion that may take place after something like this happens