Naismith news

ATLANTA (Feb. 24, 2010)---Just three months into the college basketball season, several programs are vying for supremacy as the top team in the nation. The same can be said for the 30 student-athletes looking to win the Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T after the midseason team was announced today by the Atlanta Tipoff Club. The Big East conference has seven players on the list, followed by the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) with six. Two schools, Kansas and Kentucky, are represented by two players apiece.

The top 30 midseason men's list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists from around the country. The board based its criteria on player performances this season.

The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T is the most prestigious national basketball award and is given annually to the men's college basketball player of the year. This year, the award will be presented at the NCAA Men's Final Four in Indianapolis.

Among the candidates:
John Wall, UK
Evan Turner, OSU
DeMarcus Cousins, UK
Gordon Hayward, Butler
Robbie Hummel, Purdue
Devan Downey, South Carolina