Thread: Pirates' Jaramillo still in developmental stage

Threads : 3263
    Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo

Default Pirates' Jaramillo still in developmental stage

Pirates' Jaramillo still in developmental stage
    By Rob Biertempfel, PITTSBURGH TRIBUNE-REVIEW
    Thursday, February 25, 2010

BRADENTON, Fla. Some of the biggest strides Jason Jaramillo made last season happened hours before each game began.

"The biggest thing I took from it was just making sure I studied scouting reports and was prepared," Jaramillo said. "I credit (pitching coach) Joe (Kerrigan) for a lot of that. He made it easy to go to him and ask questions. Just staying confident and knowing I need to play my game. It worked out, and I'm building off that now."

Manager John Russell said Jaramillo still must improve calling games, throwing and consistency at the plate.

"He's not an older player, so there's still development (to do)," Russell said.

Jaramillo was behind the plate for most of Ryan Doumit's two-month stint on the disabled list last season. In his 58 starts, Jaramillo hit .260 with three homers and 26 RBI.

"We'll have to monitor how much he plays (this season)," Russell said. "We don't want him to get stale."

In nearly the next breath, Russell cautioned against assuming Jaramillo will have the backup job by default.

"It's competition," Russell said. "J.J. did a nice job last year, and that puts him in a good position. But he understands that we just can't give it to him. He's got to continue to work."

In addition to Jaramillo and Doumit, there are four non-roster catchers in camp. The group includes Tony Sanchez, last year's first-round draft pick.

[HIGH-LIGHT][/HIGH-LIGHT] Fourteen pitchers threw the first live batting practice of the spring Wednesday. The group included Kevin Hart, Ross Ohlendorf, Paul Maholm and Brad Lincoln. Each pitcher threw two, 17-pitch "innings."