Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Explanation Needed on the TD/Fumble Call

      
  1. #1
    DrKnow's Avatar
    Status : DrKnow is offline
    Rank : Bench Warmer
    Join Date : Jan 7, 2010
    Posts : 260
    Threads : 70
    Last Online : Oct-13-2011 @ 10:47 AM

    Default Explanation Needed on the TD/Fumble Call

    I need clarification. Once a ref signals TD or the player is down and the whistle blows, the play should be over. Had the ref not signaled TD, they would have to sort through the pile of players to see who had recovered the ball. Once the call of TD was made, how can there be a continuation of the play? It is a flawed system. Suppose it was clear that either team had recovered the ball. I could be wrong but the ball should still be at the 1/2 yard line because at that point, the ref called the player over.
    Anyone know the EXACT rule?

  2. #2
    vandelay industries's Avatar
    Status : vandelay industries is offline
    Rank : All-Star
    Join Date : Nov 2, 2009
    Posts : 2,269
    Threads : 150
    Last Online : Mar-18-2014 @ 04:30 PM
    Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo

    Default Re: Explanation Needed on the TD/Fumble Call

    Quote Originally Posted by DrKnow View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I need clarification. Once a ref signals TD or the player is down and the whistle blows, the play should be over. Had the ref not signaled TD, they would have to sort through the pile of players to see who had recovered the ball. Once the call of TD was made, how can there be a continuation of the play? It is a flawed system. Suppose it was clear that either team had recovered the ball. I could be wrong but the ball should still be at the 1/2 yard line because at that point, the ref called the player over.
    Anyone know the EXACT rule?

    Further, and if I recall correctly and maybe it's changed now*, but didn't the replay system specifically say a few years back that if a play is blown dead (either the runner was ruled "down by contact" or in this case a fumble) that it wasn't able to be challenged?


    * Yup.

    http://www.steelersfever.com/nfl_history_of_rules.html

    2006

    Down-by-contact calls can now be reviewed by instant replay to determine if a player fumbled the ball before he was down, and who recovered it. Previously, these plays could not be reversed once officials blew the whistle.
    I guess then I don't know where the answer lies. I mean, a lot of times, as with yesterday, if blown dead, players may stop going for the fumbled ball. Also, we all know that whoever comes out of the pile with the ball isn't always the team that's given possession.

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •